Smaller Foot Prints

My journey to becoming more natural.

Water Kefir July 9, 2012

Filed under: Natural Living — momofmackandclaire @ 12:39 AM
Tags:

Even when I was little I have always had tummy problems. I just thought it was normal and that everyone was like this. Well after having 2 kids and joining some natural mommy groups on Facebook, I have come to the realization that it’s not normal and I need to do something about it. After having my little princess I started having some pains that I couldn’t handle and went to the dr. A month later I was having my Gallbladder removed. I thought I was fixed and things would start getting better. They didn’t. Again the pain comes back, back to the dr. I go. Now they think I have an ulcer and I need to have a scope done to investigate. I am so not looking forward to this.

I started reading about ulcers and digestive problems online. One day I was reading through the posts on Facebook and came across a mom who was offering Water Kefir grains to some of us who wanted them because she has more than she needs and wants to share the love. I started my online research to find out what the heck she was talking about and the following links are some of the sites I came across.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tibicos

http://nourishedkitchen.com/water-kefir/

There are hundreds of them too many to list.  On one of the sites I read that it can help cure ulcers and I was sold instantly. So I went for it and jumped in feet first like I do with almost every new adventure. I went to the mom’s house and picked up the happy little Kefir grains and brought them home and that night started making my new favorite beverage. 

Before I started drinking this magical water I was taking 600 mg of zantac a day and still having heartburn. It was worse than when I was pregnant. Now that I have been drinking the water I have only taken 3 zantac in the last 4 weeks. I like the taste of it and it helps my digestion problems. What more can I ask for? It’s a very simple process that takes very little time. I will post a photo bomb of the process very soon.

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 231 other followers